Alumni View


Posted on Mar 30, 2015 11:10 PM by SchoolSpeak, Support

Willowbrook Senior IHSA State Champion
Kelly McNamara (St. Alexander Class of 2011) won an individual state championship at the IHSA girls state swimming and diving meet on Saturday, November 22, 2014 in the 100-yard butterfly event. She finished with a time of 54.83 seconds, which was six-tents of a second faster than the runner-up finisher. She is the first member of the Willowbrook/Addison Trail swim team (male or female) to win an IHSA individual state championship.

Willowbrook presents Outstanding Students and Outstanding Teacher awards on Oct. 17, 2013

On Oct. 17, 10 Willowbrook students were recognized as Outstanding Students during a breakfast in their honor.
To be chosen for that award, students must demonstrate extraordinary achievement, outstanding effort, commendable attitude and motivation, ability to overcome obstacles and continuous exemplary performance.
During the event, Willowbrook Principal Dan Krause and Willowbrook Assistant Principal Ann Kimpton welcomed the students, their families and the staff members who nominated them. The students were then recognized and given a certificate in honor of their efforts.

The Outstanding Students are:
Music: Senior Gregory Danielson (St. Alexander Class of 2010)
World languages: Senior Benjamin Wozniak (St. Alexander Class of 2010)

Willowbrook Golfers named to the West Suburban Conference All-Academic Team
Greg Danielson (St. Alexander Class of 2010)
Sean Keefe (St. Alexander Class of 2010)

Eagle Scout Project Completed
Greg Danielson (St. Alexander Class of 2010) earned the title of Eagle Scout on January 25, 2014. Greg planted a perennial garden adjacent to the Villa Park Historical Museum and the Illinois Prairie Path. Plants we donated by members of the Troop as well as from members of the Villa Park Young Women’s Club.
Gene Ciesla (St. Alexander Class of 2012) reached Eagle Scout Rank on December 30, 2013!! Community Flag Retirement … As part of his Eagle Scout project, Gene Ciesla of Boy Scout Troop 199 worked with the VFW to collect and respectfully retire old, worn American flags. The Villa Park VFW and library collected flags until July 26. A community wide flag retirement ceremony was held at 2pm on July 28 at the Villa Park Gazebo.
Andy Ciesla (St. Alexander Class of 2012) became an Eagle Scout on December 30, 2013! Andy's project was working on the St. Alexander Church upper holiday storage room. The room was cleaned, painted and re-organized in August.

Dean's List
Patrick Hoffmann made the Dean's List at U of I for Fall 2013.

Player of the Week
Lauren Tamm was named York High School Player of the Week in the 1/23 Elmhurst Independent. She bowled a 556 series (3 games) including a game of 223 in York's WSC Conference win over Downers Grove North. At the West Suburban Conference Head Pin tournament on February 3, Lauren led the Dukes in York's second place finish with a 1,189 series (6 games), which included games of 231 and 202. She earned All-Conference honors. (this information in the 1/23 and 2/13 Elmhurst Independent Newspaper).

Lauren Tamm was announced as an Illinois State Scholar as part of York's graduating class of 2014.

The Boys Cross Country Team finished 5th overall at the IHSA State meet held at Detweiller Park. Leading the Charge for the boys was Sr. Nathan Mroz, who finshed 5th overall and was named All-State.

ICCP announces Second Quarter and First Semester Honor Roll

Mark Noftz (Class of 2010) received High Honors for both Second Quarter and First Semester.
Patrick Blaha (Class of 2012) is on the Honor Roll for both Second Quarter and First Semester.

Willowbrook Winter All-Academic and All-Conference 2013-2014Will Unseth (Class of 2010) Academic All-Conference for Boys Basketball.
Sean Greeley (Class of 2010) Academic All-Conference for Wrestling.
Jill Liebe (Class of 2010) Academic All-Conference for Girls Bowling.

Willowbrook High School Social Studies Honor Society
Susie Johnson (Class of 2010) Summa Cum Laude
Brock Johnson, Will Unseth, Eddie Garner, Ellen Krueger (Class of 2010) With Distinction
Sean Keefe, Alexander Luczak, Benjamin Wozniak (Class of 2010)
Anthony Acitelli, Avery Kirchner, Elisa King, Liana Pavese, Crystal Jones, Thomas King, Kelly McNamara, Gabriella Rodriguez (Class of 2011)
Jacob DeSalvo, William Karcz, Bridget Garner, Danielle Velasquez, Celia Dewyer, Jack Garner, Samantha Wozniak (Class of 2012).